Book club grub

11 Nov

As I mentioned last night, I made vegan cornbread to go with the promised vegan chili at book club. I am very happy to report that our lovely hostess made good on her word and presented a room full of meat eaters and crazy little me with a pot of meat-and-dairy-free chili:

Awesome job, lady! She used some kind of soy-based crumbles and even hunted down vegetarian Worcestershire sauce. It was tasty and had a lovely zing.

In fact, all the eats were vegetarian, and several were vegan. I was perfectly contented with my chili, cornbread, and three pieces of summer squash spread with hummus (pictured above). There was also cheese and crackers, a pineapple/cheese dip with pita chips, cookies, and probably other things I am now forgetting.

I appreciate so, so much everyone’s willingness to accommodate me, a newbie to the group. I try very hard not to make a big deal of my eating habits, and I always tell any group that I can bring my own food if necessary. However, that has never been expected by the book-club gals, and I’m pretty overwhelmed by the supportive, considerate responses I’ve received from them.

Anyway, I know this post isn’t laden with great meal ideas or recipes or the like, but I knew my Vegan MoFo readers would appreciate how the book club’s courtesy made me feel. I hope the rest of you are surrounded with supported friends, too.

2 Responses to “Book club grub”

  1. omgoshimvegan November 11, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    How wonderful to have such a supportive group of people around.

  2. Holly November 12, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    I didn’t even realize that you were the only vegan there! I would have never known judging by the amount of thought put into such a tasty, vegan-friendly buffet. That is pretty cool of them. It’s also sweet of you to recognize their consideration. Sweet people all around!

Leave a Reply

