Vegan MoFo Contest Announcement for Week #2

9 Nov

Thanks again to everyone who submitted entries into my first contest. Congratulations again to meansoybean for her winning recipe! Everyone go check it out.

Now, my fellow food-loving friends, it’s time for the second contest. We are taking a side-step away from the sugar-and-fat-laden sphere of baking to the wide-open world of global cuisine. Your challenge: choose a style of cuisine you’ve never made before and take a stab at it. Have you already conquered international cooking? Then pick a style you like and try another facet of it. For example, my plan is to make gnocchi from scratch for the first time.

Want some inspiration? Check out Madhur Jaffrey’s absolutely wonderful World Vegetarian cookbook or fellow Tulsan Sasha’s Global Table blog.

Here are the rules:

1. To enter, email me photos of your entry plus a recipe by 11:59 p.m. Central Time on Sunday, November 14. Feel free to include pictures of the process as well as the final version. One photo of your finished product is OK, too. Conversely, if you have a blog of your own, feel free to do a post about your global cooking adventure in lieu of sending me the details. Just make sure to email me a link instead. Also, let me know if you have any food allergies in case you’re the winner so I don’t send you a package of things that’ll kill ya.

2. All submissions must be from a culture separate from your own. There’s a world (tee hee!) of possibilities, so take your pick. And yes, that does mean non-Americans are free to try their hands at our decidedly fried and corn-fed cuisine.

3. Remember: Try out something new. The point is to challenge ourselves and expand our horizons.

I hope this goes without being said, but, of course, 4. All entries must be vegan. Feel free to veganize a popular dish or choose a style – such as Indian or Vientamese – that has a lot of meat- and dairy-free options already available.

5. If your recipe was not made up by you, please cite your source. No one will lose points for using a preexisting recipe, but please just let me know where you found it.

One winner will receive a surprise package from me. Precise goodies have yet to be determined, but expect some homemade baked goods and some of my favorite vegan products. Winners will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Creativity of the submission
  • Presentation
  • Effort

Do you plan to participate? Let me know in the comments! You can also pop over to the Vegging out in T-Town Facebook  page to let me know. As before, please spread the word!

Thanks again, and I can’t wait to see what you make!

6 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Contest Announcement for Week #2”

  1. Kate November 9, 2010 at 3:39 am #

    Oooh… this may be my excuse to try and make falafel.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All in a golden afternoon « Vegging out in T-Town - November 13, 2010

    […] friends! I hope you’re planning to enter my second contest. I made gnocchi yesterday and can’t wait to share my experience on Monday. Make something new […]

  2. Sunday Brunch: Spicy Thai Jicama Salad « - November 14, 2010

    […] Nov Vegging Out In T-Town is holding a global cuisine contest. I thought I’d give it a […]

  3. Weekly Contest #2 Results and Winner « Vegging out in T-Town - November 15, 2010

    […] response was smaller for the Week #2 contest, but I’m still excited about the two entries I received. Let’s get right to […]

Leave a Reply

