Vegan cornbread

9 Nov

I belong to a book group. Specifically, we read historical fiction, which typically isn’t my forte, but I’ve been having a good time nonetheless. Each month, we meet at one member’s house to discuss the reading, go off on long tangents unrelated to the book, and eat. This week, our host pledged to make vegan chili with me in mind. Only time will tell if she did so, but either way, I was touched. So what must one serve with vegan chili?

Vegan Cornbread (recipe from The Joy of Vegan Baking)

  • 1 1/2 cups vegan milk
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons vinegar (I use apple cider, but white is good, too)
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3 tablespoons vegan sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/2 to 1 cup corn kernels (optional)

Preheat the oven to 425° F. Grease an 8″x8″ baking dish and set aside.

In a small bowl, combine the milk and the vinegar. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together the cornmeal, flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Add the milk/vinegar mixture, oil, and corn if using (I usually don’t). Stir until just blended. Pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish, spreading evenly. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

This recipe is incredibly quick and easy. It goes from empty bowls to the oven in 10 minutes, I promise. It’s also delicious. In fact, I can’t think of a dairy-loaded cornbread I’ve liked so well. The result is moist and flavorful without the sweetness overpowering the corn taste and texture.

Now we must wait and see what everyone else brings to share.

4 Responses to “Vegan cornbread”

  1. Mrs. BW November 9, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Karla is going to make the Vegan Chili, as far as I know, but I am failing, and making a go-to non-vegan item, but it’s at least vegetarian. . .maybe you’ll splurge and try! And I had no idea sugar was not vegan friendly, you learn something new everyday, and today is no exception!

  2. Ashley November 10, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Thank you! I love cornbread and have been looking around for a vegan cornbread recipe to try, but atypical ingredient lists and conflicting reviews left me hesitant. This one sounds perfect. 🙂

  3. Heavy Hedonist December 28, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    I’ll be glad to try this– I’ve yet to find a vegan cornbread I truly like. Peace, Mari

    • Brigid January 3, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      This recipe never fails me! It’s easy and delicious. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

