Squash bowl and a minor tragedy

4 Nov

First, I want to say how excited I am about the baking challenge. Even more people have expressed interest in joining, and I’ve already received the first submission from meansoybean. It looks tasty, and I can’t wait to share. I’ll be engaging in my own baking adventure either tonight or tomorrow – or both. I have quite a list. Once again, my overachieving past rears its head.

Anyway, I wanted to share my slightly bizarre, lazy-girl lunch for the week: chili served in a squash bowl.

I’ve always found bread bowls to be disturbing. I mean, I like to dip good crusty or fluffy carbs into soup as much as the next person, but the idea of hot liquid sitting in something that will definitely dissolve and then having weird little bits of bread floating around grosses me out. I’m sure there’s something wrong with me. All the same, I like the idea of serving soup in an edible bowl, so I swapped bread for half a winter squash. Monday’s lunch was tasty, but not exactly photogenic:

The squash wouldn’t stand on its own. Things quickly fell apart:

The top picture is from today’s lunch. Luckily, we had clean bowls at work this time, so that helped. I didn’t have to support the thing with a mug, at least.

The squash is a buttercup – not butternut – and it has a nice, delicate flavor. I still prefer the kabocha, though. I just stabbed it six times and baked it for an hour in a 375 oven. The chili is the ultimate in laziness: canned Black Bean Mole from Health Valley Organic. I used half for each lunch and added lots of black pepper. To serve at lunch, I scraped out the squash seeds (saving them in a baggy for baking this week) and heated the chili and squash separately. The buttercup needs a bit of microwave time – about three minutes.

I plan to make real lunches for next week from a new cookbook I’ll discuss soon.

And late this afternoon, tragedy struck:

Yes, I killed the White Rabbit who adorns/keeps heat from escaping from the top of my teapot. Those are his remains. I hope the company will sell me a replacement.

One Response to “Squash bowl and a minor tragedy”

  1. Claryn November 5, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    I kind of really love your squash bowl — it makes a lot of sense paired with the chili, too. Yum!

Leave a Reply

