Wild Fork (***1/2 overall)

31 Oct

I will get back to the vacation recap soon, but I’ve been crazy-busy this week. Friday and Saturday was Indie Emporium, and I had things to make, sell, and then model in a fashion show. Anyway, I hope you enjoy this restaurant view from last week and promise more Italy soon.

I was going to start this post with, “A vegan, a vegetarian, and an omnivore walk into a restaurant,” but that would imply I didn’t eat any dairy there. I did. It wasn’t my plan. In fact, I had called ahead to make sure there were dairy-free options available, but I cracked under the pressure of flatbread pizza and sweet-potato pie. Bad Brigid.

Anyway, my beloved’s younger brother is leaving Tulsa to return to Atlanta, and we are going to miss him greatly. He wanted to buy us dinner as a belated birthday gift to my taller half, so last night, we all went to the Wild Fork.

I’ve been several times before, mostly for lunch or brunch. This was my first dinner trip.

Wild Fork is a little swanky, but not over-the-top. My taller half chose it because it’s friendly to all diets. There are large slabs of meat, and there are light, refreshing salads, and there is plenty in between. Notice the carrot symbol on the menus denoting vegetarian options, and there are several vegan or veganizable choices, as well.

I was just about ready to gnaw my own arm off, so I was elated when the bread arrived:

I had a second roll later on.

I was planning to stay all vegan for this meal, and I could have, but then my taller half’s evil thoughtful brother ordered the Pizza of Artichoke Hearts and Arugula with pesto, fresh tomatoes, red onion, Greek olives, pine nuts and cheeses.

I couldn’t stop myself. Bad Brigid, indeed. But it was tasty – really, really tasty. And garlicky. Yum yum yum.

Then my vegan meal arrived – Spicy Szechwan Stir Fry with stir fried shiitake and domestic mushrooms, broccoli, bell peppers, onions, edamame and carrots tossed with noodles in spicy sweet soy sauce:

I only had half (which means the rest is lunch today). I ordered it with its full spiciness, and it did have a kick, but it wasn’t overwhelming. The veggies were nice, and the sauce was good, but a little greasy. My love started with one of the soups of the day, a curried lentil:

For his entree, he ordered Fettuccini with Tomatoes and Arugula – arugula with minced olives, capers and scallions tossed with fettuccini in light lemon cream topped with tomato vinaigrette, parmesan and feta:

He ate every single bite and loved it. I had a nibble. ‘Twas tasty.

My love’s brother went with Pork Rib Chop with caramelized apples and shallots and garlic mashed potatoes on the side:

Meaty. He seemed to like it, though.

Then we were all undone by dessert. I had sweet potato pie:

It was my first time. I liked it, but pumpkin is still my favorite pie. My taller half had something called chocolate in excess:

It was a flourless chocolate cake with an Oreo crust. It was phenomenal. The brother had four-berry cobbler (blueberry, raspberry, blackberry, and strawberry) with ice cream:

I’m not a cobbler fan, but I enjoyed the crust.

Rating: *** for veggie options and **** for deliciousness. (See this post for scoring guide.)

Wild Fork is at 1820 Utica Square, near the Starbucks. Their hours are 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Monday-Saturday.

Leave a Reply

