Vegan crepes at Mod’s!

4 Oct

Last Tuesday night, my taller half and I dropped in Mod’s Coffee and Crepes for dinner. If you’re local, you probably remember the Collective, the wonderful café/coffeehouse/bar across the street from TU. When it sadly closed its door, a hole was left in my heart. Former owner Rusty Rowe recently took over the former Kokoa downtown to start Mod’s. Though it doesn’t recreate the majesty of the defunct restaurant, it’s a lovely little place.

And recently, they began serving vegan (gluten-free) crepes on Tuesdays, so what choice did I have?

This isn’t a real review partly because I forgot my camera, so I have a couple of cell-phone shots. I will have to return another time to give a full rundown. In the meantime, here’s what I have to report.

The vegan crepe batter is incredibly good. In fact, my taller half and I agreed that it was better than the non-vegan recipe. I got two to try. Yes, I’m a pig. Proof:

Damn swine flu.

Anyway, I tried the Florentine:

And the chocolate banana:

I didn’t love the savory one, but I suspect it’s because of all the tomato chunks. Why do I keep trying to eat tomatoes prepared in ways I don’t like? No idea. I’m an idiot. The vegan cheese, however, was fantastic. It may have been the best I’ve ever had. The chocolate banana, on the other hand, was delicious. I loved it. It was so rich and flavorful, and it made a perfect dessert. I will have trouble not ordering it every time.

My love tried the spinach artichoke non-vegan crepe:

He liked it, especially the cheese blend. I tried a small bite and thought it was good. He didn’t like the preparation of the spinach, but he loved the tomatoes from mine. I think next time I want a savory one, I will ask if they can do the vegan cheese with the artichoke.

The vegan, gluten-free crepes are available every Tuesday during lunch and dinner, so don’t miss out. There are two other flavors in addition to the ones I tried: berry with soy cream and peanut butter and jelly. Mod’s is at 507 S. Boston Ave., and its hours are 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday, 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. Tuesday-Friday, and 4 to 10 p.m. Saturday.

Did I mention they have gelato – including vegan sorbetti – too? I will definitely have to offer up a full review soon. In the meantime, head over there for lunch or dinner tomorrow!

One Response to “Vegan crepes at Mod’s!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Truck nuts, edible plants and going pantsless at the fair: Tulsa Blog Round-Up - Tasha Does Tulsa - October 11, 2010

    […] Out in T-Town. Hear ye, hear ye, vegans of Tulsa: Brigid at Vegging Out at T-Town has found vegan, gluten-free crepes at, where else, Mod’s Coff…. Now you can feast your eyes and your face. Share and […]

Leave a Reply

