Variations on a theme

30 Sep

Dinner tonight was set to be a repeat of Monday’s, but I decided to give it a spin. While I relied on Asian flavors (sesame, sri racha) for my earlier meal, I went for Italian this time.

The pasta and veggies were prepared identically to Monday, but I took the toppings a different direction. Crowning Old Smoky is another clove of raw garlic, about 1.5 tablespoons of nutritional yeast, several dashes of oregano and basil, a healthy dose of crushed red pepper, and a few cranks of the black pepper mill. This was equally delicious to my earlier effort, though completely different.

Afterward, I had another smoothie:

It contained a handful of spinach, one frozen banana, 1/2-2/3 cup frozen peaches, two teaspoons of cocoa powder, one teaspoon of cinnamon, and about 1/4 cup of coconut milk creamer. I loved the addition of the final ingredient. I’m glad I thought to throw some in.

I enjoyed this little challenge enough that you can expect to see another post with a third variation tomorrow. Good night!

2 Responses to “Variations on a theme”

  1. finallyvegan September 30, 2010 at 3:49 am #

    Wow, that smoothie seems tasty… I’m gonna try it anytime soon!

  2. veryvegangirl September 30, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    Lovin’ that smoothie recipe! And the color is gorgeous! I’m going to get some frozen peaches and try this tomorrow morning. I haven’t used the coconut milk creamer in a smoothie yet, but it’s delicious in my chai. Can’t wait to try your recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

