Even smaller bounty

27 Sep

Yesterday, I said goodbye to the Cherry Street Farmers Market for 2010. I shed a tear. Here’s what the entrance looked like at 7:30 a.m. that day:

And here’s a shot of some of the interior:

Since the season’s wrapping up, it’s not as packed as it had been. In the middle of the summer, there were tons of vendors and hungry shoppers packing 15th Street.

The real tragedy of the day, though, occurred before I even hit the market. On the way out the door, I reached into my purse to grab my debit card and ID so I could stop for some cash (and not get arrested for driving without a license). When I, with Sully in the back seat, stopped at Quik Trip to pull some money out of the ATM, I discovered that my “debit card” was actually my library card. I was in too big a hurry to go home, though, so I ended up with only the $5 I already had to spend. Here’s what I got:

Could have been worse. I asked myself what I would miss most and decided it was the fresh green beans. Expect to see them this week.

Goodbye, farmers market. I will miss you.

2 Responses to “Even smaller bounty”

  1. Holly September 27, 2010 at 3:37 am #

    I didn’t even go to the one on Cherry Street this year. Bummer! I really meant to make it out there.

  2. Alicia (Vegan Epicurean) September 27, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    How sad that your farmers’ market has closed for the season. I guess I shouldn’t complain about ours closing right after Thanksgiving any more.

    Ali

Leave a Reply

