Small bounty

18 Sep

The withdrawals have started. My heart is pounding, though that could just be the coffee; my throat is scratchy, but that could be the allergies; and I have a sinking feeling in my stomach that can be attributed to nothing else. Yes, the Cherry Street Farmers Market will make its last appearance for the year on October 2. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to go that day, which means next Saturday will be my last trip until May. Pass me a tissue.

I took Sully again today, so I didn’t bike. I had little money to spend, and as a result my bounty was not as bountiful as you’ve seen here before:

Before you are (clockwise from top left) purple hull peas, 1 lb of sweet potatoes, 1/4 lb of maitake mushrooms, and a block of Prairie Fire cheese from Hardesty Cheese. The latter is for my taller half, one cheese-eating fiend. I tried a sample of it once before I bought it for him, and it is good — smooth white cheese with some serious bite.

The mushrooms are, as always, from Mushroom Planet. You have two more chances to buy from her, so get on it! I’m madly in love with the maitakes. They are unbelievable sauteed in a little olive oil. They are great in risotto, in miso soup, and by themselves.

Suddenly lots of folks have sweet potatoes for $2/lb. I couldn’t pass it up. And the purple hull peas are one of my favorite discoveries this year. Look out for a wonderful recipe featuring them this week.

Sully, the little craphead, loves the farmers market. She is a people dog, not overly fond of other canines, but she’ll tolerate them for the chance that humans will adore her. And they do. I must tell her breed between two and five times every time we go. I am asked very frequently if she’s a Brussels griffon. (For the record, she’s a pug zu, born of the star-crossed love between a pug and a shih tzu. Apparently some people breed them on purpose, but I gather mine was an accident — an adorable, stinky one.) The 20- or 30-minute jaunt around the market wipes her out, though, even when it isn’t blazingly hot. Here she is post-trip:

Isn’t it great that I got a dog that matched the carpets? Or, rather, chose a carpet that matched my dog. That’s what she looks like most hours of most days, to be fair. Want a dog that doesn’t chew chords, bite, require much exercise, bark, or mind being the only pet? Get a pug zu. Want a guard dog, a pet to take on runs, or something to eat your leftovers that aren’t entirely wheat bread or cream cheese or ketchup? Then you’re barking up the wrong breed.

Do you mourn the farmers market when it packs up for the year? What do you do to get fresh, local veggies throughout the fall?

Leave a Reply

