Rees’ Cuppage

17 Sep

I was pondering what to do with some of my tea party leftovers. As you saw earlier this week, I ate many of them. The cookies and cupcakes are gone, as are the white bean dip and veggies. I believe the cream cheese is still there, but that should probably become dinner for the garbage disposal today. The only other thing that came to mind was the chocolate chips and the peanut butter (which is not my preferred brand to eat on its own). That led me to doing something terrible. Ghastly. Inexcusable.

I decided to find a recipe for homemade peanut butter cups.

I don’t know what I was thinking. I don’t know how this fits into my attempt to clean up my eating after a weekend and subsequent week of gluttony. I just know that it had to happen.

And so it did. I regret nothing.

I used Have Cake Will Travel’s incredibly easy and delicious recipe. However, in honor of the failed campaign of my favorite example of “I can’t believe he doesn’t think that’s copyright infringement!”, I have dubbed these Rees’ Cuppage.

I wonder if he regrets nothing.

Anyway, check out the recipe, but basically you combine chocolate with a little peanut butter, then peanut butter with sugar, and then you top it all off with more chocolate. How could you go wrong?

Oh so right. I didn’t manage to completely cover the peanut butter on the sides, as you can see, but I was 10 kinds of cranky last night thanks to Trenitalia‘s evil, mean, stupid website, so I really, really don’t care. And yes, one is missing because it soothed me after I made them.

Does this picture give you vertigo? I would like to point out that this is not a scheduled post, though I did prepare these last night. No, I am actually eating candy at 9:30 on a Friday morning. But it isn’t my breakfast. No no no, that would just be silly. Consider it a pre-breakfast amuse bouche.

My bouche is très amused.

And now Marcello shall help me get back on track. Happy Friday, everyone!

Update: I s’pose I should have mentioned some real comments on this recipe other than “soooo goooood!”, so here you have it: I think next time I would add vanilla to either the chocolate or the peanut butter. I think it would be fun to experiment with adding a little coconut milk to the chocolate, too. Otherwise, I loved it just the way it was.

One Response to “Rees’ Cuppage”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Day: Keepin’ it healthy « Vegging out in T-Town - November 25, 2010

    […] by Heather Eats Almond Butter‘s recent post, so I decided to try making Creamy Dreamy Rees’ Cuppage […]

Leave a Reply

