White bean spread and things I didn’t do

13 Sep

This may or may not be the last post I write about the tea party. I make no promises.

There was a lot I didn’t do this weekend because of my birthday on Friday and party on Saturday.

On Friday, I didn’t ride Marcello. I booked myself a 9 a.m. deep-tissue massage at Clary Sage. I could have woken up at 7 a.m. on my birthday/day off to pedal around the river, but I didn’t. Nope. Instead I rose at 8:10, a leisurely hour for me, and took my dirty hair and greasy skin to the massage table. I was there instructed by Jennifer, my amazing rubdown artist (technical term), not to work out. I’m not sure if it was a birthday thing or the fact that she (lovingly) (tenderly) beat my crazy muscles into submission. (Squiggly blue line thinks I meant to write, “beat me crazy muscles.” Even Word speaks Okie better than I do. That, or it thinks I am abused by parts of my own body.) I took her mandate either way.

I didn’t shower before leaving the house. See the notes above about the condition of my hair and skin. It is a rare day that I don’t wash my hair before leaving my apartment. I have the super-fine, oily hair type that demands to be washed every day. Don’t talk to me about needing to give the shampoo a rest every other morning. I’ve tried it, and it’s nasty. We all appreciate my daily cleanings. Needless to say, dirty hair looks even better after a massage when all the oils have time to mingle. However, I am the queen of efficiency, so I finished my pre-party grocery shopping while I was out. I got home and stared horrified at my reflection.

I didn’t count my fruit and veggie servings. On my birthday, I instead gravitated towards what sounded good to me. I wasn’t a total glutton, but it wasn’t my finest day of consumption.

On Saturday, I didn’t go to the farmers market. Enter one very practical reason: money. I’m a (clean) hair shy of broke these days as I’ve been preparing for my party and, up next, a trip to Italy. (More on that another day.) I wanted to go, but I stayed home. I shall be back this weekend, however.

I didn’t atone for Friday’s sins on Saturday. Instead, my party-day eats consisted of: four cupcakes, two sugar cookies, a handful of goodies from the veggie tray (snow peas, carrots, and broccoli), about a tablespoon of hummus, two vegan tea sandwiches (i.e. half an actual sandwich), three cups of tea with honey, a handful of potato chips, and a package of Sour Punch Straws. Fine dining. I did myself proud.

I didn’t atone for Friday and Saturday’s sins on Sunday. I won’t even go into it. I do want to thank the folks who showed up for the Eye of God reading/audition for finishing up the sugar cookies so I didn’t have to.

I also didn’t share any actual tea-party recipes, so here you go: Vegan White Bean Spread.

I will preface by saying the measurements are guestimates since I just kinda threw things in as I went along. Also, I’m sorry about the weirdness of this picture:

Ingredients
· 1 can of white beans (I used cannellini, but just choose your favorite)

· 3 cloves of garlic, chopped

· 2ish tablespoons of white or yellow onion, chopped

· 1/4 cup chives, chopped

· Juice from half a lemon

· Five to eight basil leaves, torn up

Rinse white beans and throw in the blender or food processor with the garlic, onion, chives, and lemon juice. Blend until fairly smooth, adding a little liquid as needed to process. The bean liquid is a good choice, but I’m freaked out by it, so I just used water. Then add the basil leaves and pulse just until they are slightly torn up.

Makes about 2 cups. The spread is quite flavorful. If you don’t like garlic as much as I do (and few people do), feel free to reduce it to one or two cloves. This would have been delicious with a few more herbs, too, such as dill or even cilantro, but I was trying to keep it easy. It was great as a sandwich spread, but I’m having it as a dip with raw veggies today.

2 Responses to “White bean spread and things I didn’t do”

  1. Elisabeth November 5, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    The dip sounds yummy! I love hummus and bean dips, they are great with veggies, chips, bread or crackers. 3 cloves of garlic on 1 can of beans? Watch out, vampires! 🙂

    • Brigid November 5, 2010 at 4:23 am #

      I’m a garlic fiend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

