Don’t be disappointed.

7 Sep

This was a weekend of disappointments. Yet, I went to bed last night feeling better than I have in a long time. How can so many letdowns possibly result in such a perfect weekend? Check out the tally:

Friday
· Disappointment: Lunch plans with my taller half fell through. Remedy: I enjoyed a long-for-me bike ride and lunch at home instead.

· Disapointment: The historic drive-in movie theater in town burned to the ground. Remedy: The community has rallied in support.

· Disappointment: The dinner I was supposed to have with three of my high school friends (the core of the AP Crew – nerd alert!) and two of our favorite high-school teachers (what did I tell you?) fell through. Remedy: We rescheduled for a fun outing to the Greek Holiday Festival. And I got to spend the whole evening with my love instead.

· Disappointment: I had a migraine. Remedy: I popped a Treximet, stayed horizontal for as long as possible, and snuggled with my man.

Saturday
· Disappointment: My dog pissed me off and made me miss yoga. Remedy: I have to give myself credit for just getting over this, which is not one of my strong suits. I tend to stew.

· Disappointment: We discovered that Maggie Moo’s has left Tulsa and its surrounding area. Remedy: Baskin-Robbins, which is a pale substitute.

Don’t let the smile fool you. While I did enjoy this frozen treat (a Reese’s deluxe or supreme or whatever sundae), it was no Maggie’s mix of red velvet ice cream, Reese’s crumbles, cookie dough, and caramel sauce. Let this addiction reveal that I don’t always eat nutritious, vegan food. I am still not a full-time vegan, though I get closer every day. Maggie Moo is my soft spot and was my favorite splurge. I miss you, Moo.

· BONUS: After lunch at the amazing Café Samana (see my review), we decided to spend the afternoon at the Gilcrease Museum, where we enjoyed the photography exhibit, marveled at mastodon teeth and ancient pottery, shared in our distaste of Remington and his home boys, and critiqued the frequent errors on the informational placards. We also strolled around the grounds, which feed into a gorgeous city park. I left my camera in the car, but you can see some photos of the gardens here and the park here. Then we had ice cream, bought groceries, and spent the evening at home watching the first two episodes of House of Elliot, my current Netflix disc.

Sunday
· Disappointment: Our vegan blueberry pancake experience was a complete and total flop. Or should I say “splat?”
This is my first big Veganomicon letdown. Remedy: In a desperate attempt to salvage our homemade brunch from the ingredients on hand, I flipped through some cookbooks and decided to whip up a batch of lemon blueberry muffins from my lover friend, The Joy of Vegan Baking.

They totally saved the day! We enjoyed them with a pineapple spear and coffee.

Pretend that the pineapple doesn’t look like it might have been exposed to nuclear waste. It didn’t actually glow in the dark.

· Disappointment: We couldn’t borrow bikes from the apartment complex (because they closed Sunday, too, for Labor Day) or from the free rentals along the River Parks trail, and I had my heart set on a ride with my love. Remedy: We regrouped and decided to do some running around instead. After a jaunt to Whole Foods so we can continue feeding my craphead dog, we flipped through tons of vegan cookbooks at Books-A-Million in search of more brunch ideas, since that is my taller half’s biggest challenge when trying to eat dairy-free with me. Afterward, we were feeling snacky, so we popped into Peachwave to see if they had any dairy-free options. They did! It was quite delicious, too. I didn’t snap a picture, but mine was the Dole Pineapple flavor topped with kiwi, strawberry, and almonds. I also sampled the peanut butter, which I liked, but I preferred the fruitier version (surprisingly). In the evening, we took a trip to the Gypsy Coffee House for more snacks (Columbian Cocoa, which is their version of Mexican hot chocolate, made with soy milk and a basket of potato chips; my love had straight-up black coffee) and lots of chitchat. Sorry, no food pictures. Then we watched the first three episodes of the Mary Tyler Moore Show at home.

Monday
· Disappointment: I awoke to found that ants had invaded the rest of my homemade blueberry muffins. Remedy: I somehow did not cry. Instead, we grabbed a quick brunch at Coffee House on Cherry Street on the way to the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve. Delicious vegan eats on the go:
Bagel sandwich with hummus, spinach, cucumber, tomato, onion, and bell pepper. (I removed the slice of provolone and fed it to my taller half.)
Soy cappuccino with a ton of cinnamon and a sprinkle of sugar. This may be the best soy cappuccino I’ve ever had.

· Disappointment: It took us an extra hour to find the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve. Don’t ever trust Google maps to get you there. Remedy: After driving in circles and then asking for directions, we finally made it. The trip is well worth it. See?

Wildflowers.

Prairie green.

Crick Creek.

Tallgrass Praire Preserve Fields forever.

Love.

· Disappointment: We returned covered in ticks. Remedy: There’s nothing sexier than tweezing a blood sucker from your beloved’s ankle. Oh, you don’t agree? Well, then, the trip itself was the remedy, as was the evening of Mad Men, conversation, and homemade white bean dip (recipe coming soon).

And today, we both returned to the grind, but at least I have something great to come home to this evening. 🙂

I hope you had a wonderful weekend, too.

4 Responses to “Don’t be disappointed.”

  1. taramason September 7, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    Muffins look yummy! And your hair is so cute!

  2. Offlogic September 8, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Re: the bagel sandwich thing… I have to say the hummus mix from Whole Foods isn’t half-bad; rather good actually.

    • Brigid September 8, 2010 at 12:19 am #

      I haven’t tried their mix, but I love most of their prepared hummuses (hummi?).

  3. Offlogic September 8, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Also, you never told us you were dating that guy from “Big Bang Theory”! OMG!

    (Seriously, TallerPerson, the haircut works, just had to tweak you!)

Leave a Reply

