Review: Cafe Samana *****

5 Sep

I will remember 2010 for many reasons. Restaurant-wise, it’s the year Cafe Samana entered Tulsa and, therefore, my life.

It’s a small restaurant with both a clean and an eclectic interior. I like the low-key, unfussy ambiance.

But the real draw is the drool-worthy menu.

Vegetarians and vegans, rejoice. Here is a fresh, healthy option that will sate you (us) and the meat eaters in your life. On the menu pictured above, I have consumed (in order of deliciousness) the Cherise, the Roasted Veggie, the Samana BBQ Wrap, and the Beer Bratwurst. I’ve also nibbled the BellaWitch and enjoyed a mango wrap that was the special one day. I split the Hummus & Veggies on one occasion and have tried two different soups and the top three sides. Yes, I may have a Cafe Samana addiction.

My taller half and I decided to make it our lunch destination on this incredibly pleasant Saturday. Sadly, the most delicious thing there was not on the menu.

I keep him.

However, there is a whole slew of other tasty choices.

I ended up with the Beer Bratwurst (with the vegan cheese option) and red pepper and tomato soup on the side, plus iced tea (chamomile and rosehip today) to drink.

The bratwurst is probably my least favorite thing I’ve tried to far, but considering the unbelievable deliciousness of everything else, that’s not much of an insult. The truth is that I was never a huge bratwurst fan, but they were out of falafel, and I am trying to make my way through everything vegan on the menu. This dude was very close to the real deal. The bread was incredible. The sauerkraut is also quite good, though maybe a little salty in such a large quantity, but this is coming from an avowed salt disliker. It is absolutely delicious on the Cherise, Samana’s amazing tempeh Reuben. In fact, you must go there immediately and order one. The Roasted Veggie (with or without the cheese) is also an acceptable choice. You can finish reading this post later.

The soup, however, was flippin’ perfect. It was both smooth and flavorful. I may or may not have dipped half my bratwurst into the soup.

My beloved ordered the BellaWitch and the Fruit and Yogurt on the side (and water, no ice). I took a tiny, cheese-free bite of the sandwich, served on the same delicious bread, and goodness me, it was tasty. At first, he was daunted with how to approach it, but he quickly squished it together. The blue cheese was one of his favorite parts. I didn’t sample the yogurt, but he liked it. He noted it wasn’t as tart as he often likes, but neither was it cloyingly sweet. The fruit, he added, was a perfect complement.

Rating: a big, fat ***** for veggie options and ***** for deliciousness. (See this post for scoring guide.) Do I sound too biased? Then check out avowed meat-lover Scott Cherry’s review in the Tulsa World.

Cafe Samana is at 3807-F S. Peoria Ave. Their hours are 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday-Thursday and Saturday, and 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. Fridays.

3 Responses to “Review: Cafe Samana *****”

  1. hollyrocks September 7, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    This place sounds freaking YUMMY! We’ll definitely be giving them a try.

    Also, I lol’d when you mentioned your delicious man. You guys are so sweet. 🙂

  2. April September 13, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    Thanks for the great review! I’m a bit confused after looking at the menu – I assume all of the entrees that are marked vegan and mention cheese/mayo/pesto/etc. feature vegan versions of those ingredients? My boyfriend’s parents live near Tulsa, so it’s great to find another vegan-friendly place I can eat when we visit!

    • Brigid September 23, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      All the things marked vegan either are already or can be easily made vegan by telling the waiter. Vegan cheese is an option — just ask for it. I believe all the mayo is canola-based, and a lot of the creamy soups are almond-based. Just speak up. The servers are incredibly helpful.

Leave a Reply

