Sunday Night Scramble

30 Aug

We buy groceries for the week either on Saturday or Sunday afternoons. Since we tend to eat out for lunch both days, I have a terrible habit of forgetting about weekend dinners when picking up items from the supermarket. As a result, I end up cobbling together meals from whatever I happen to have around the apartment. Let me introduce you to today’s Sunday Night Scramble.

A whole wheat pita stuffed with corn and black beans. First I heated about 1/4 cup of frozen corn in the microwave for 30 seconds. Then I added half a can of rinsed black beans (that were refrigerated) for another minute. I stirred in about a teaspoon of chipotle powder, a teaspoon of cumin, and a few dashes of cayenne, as well as one minced garlic clove. Meanwhile, I toasted my pita halves in the, well, toaster. Then I filled them with beany-corny innards and topped it all with nutritional yeast. It was delicious and done almost entirely on one Emmy break.

And then there was this:

A double mug cake. I used the Vegan Feast Kitchen recipe again, with the same variations, except this time I threw in a few dashes of cayenne pepper for a Mexican chocolate feel. Winner!

That, my lovey-dovies is how I stayed sated tonight. Yes, veggies and fruits were sadly unrepresented, but tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

