Gena’s Tofu Scramble

30 Aug

…Speaking of scrambles, I decided to try something different for breakfasts this week. For more or less the last year, I’ve started the day with a green smoothie, combining a banana, a handful of baby spinach, liquid (either water or faux-milk), flaxseeds, and whatever frozen fruit struck my fancy that week.

Thought it’s a tasty, healthful start to the day, the green smoothie never sticks with me long enough not to eat my own arm in anticipation of lunch. So this week, I turned to a recipe that appeared recently on Choosing Raw: the Classic Tofu Scramble.

It’s quick, it’s simple, and it has 18 grams of protein, so what’s not to love? Well, my fear was the taste. Here’s where I admit that I’ve never eaten tofu scramble (gasp!) and that I don’t have a great track record of preparing tofu at home, but this seemed easy enough.

And it was. And boy, oh boy, did it taste heavenly. Gena, you are a genius. This recipe was delicious and simple. It had the texture of really well scrambled eggs, though obviously the taste wasn’t identical. Instead, it was warm and spicy. The only change I made was the addition of a pressed garlic clove, which I know the blogger herself would not enjoy, but I thoroughly did. As great as the taste is its ability to keep me full. I ate it alone, and it kept me sated until lunch five hours later.

Tonight I will chop up the bell pepper and carrot and mix the spices to make my morning get-around a little quicker, but this was far from complicated or time-consuming. Try it if you haven’t yet!

2 Responses to “Gena’s Tofu Scramble”

  1. Afton September 2, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Mmmm. sounds good.

    I like to add peanut butter to my smoothies to make them last me until lunch. Not sure how it would taste with baby spinach, but I like it with strawberry banana. mmmm.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Foolproof Tofu Burgers and Phone Meltdowns - August 31, 2010

    […] to the food. Recently, I saw that Brigid had made my tofu scramble, and that she really liked it (thank you, Brigid!). This reminded me of a reader request I’d […]

Leave a Reply

