Have you met my friend Justin?

27 Aug

I’ve read about Justin’s Nut Butters frequently on some of my favorite blogs, but it wasn’t until recently that I encountered one of his products. The Tulsa Whole Foods doesn’t carry them, but randomly enough, Reasor’s, our local chain, does. I started with a one-serving sampler of the Maple Almond Butter, and oh baby, it was love at first bite.

I am not normally much of an almond-butter fan, but this stuff is enough to make me a believer. So even though the jar is 10-freaking-dollars, I shelled out the big bucks to experience the ecstasy again. Well, to be fair, I paid for half, having unwittingly drawn my beloved into this web of death delight.

And on that happy note, I present tonight’s not-too-crazy-unhealthy dessert:

*Note: My next post will not be about chocolate or dessert at all, promise. I do eat actual food, too.*

Take a healthy dollop of this grainy, delicious stuff:

And spread it on its new best friend, the Nature Valley Oats ‘n Dark Chocolate bar (which is vegan and yummy):

A-hum-muh-nah-hum-muh-nah.

Going back to that “not too crazy unhealthy” bidness, together this dessert has roughly 380 calories, 24 grams of fat (mostly the nut fat, but the bar also has canola and the chocolate, of course), 10 grams of protein, and 6 grams of fiber. Not too shabby, and certainly healthier — and more filling — than a scoop of ice cream or a Snickers bar.

Has anyone else tried the other Justin’s Nut Butter flavors? Our selection is limited, but I can’t wait to sample a few more.

2 Responses to “Have you met my friend Justin?”

  1. Christine August 27, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Thom & I picked some of this up at Reasor’s – they had 3 different sample size flavors. I have to say, I really didn’t like the “classic peanut”, but goodness, the maple almond butter sounds delicious. I haven’t tried it yet. They also carry it at Target at 71st & 169 and it’s a bit less expensive (was on sale for around $7 a jar a few weeks ago).

  2. Ashley September 17, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I just found your blog through your twitter post, and I love it! Thanks for sharing your reviews, insights, etc. 🙂

Leave a Reply

