Book review: The Kind Diet

27 Aug

The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Saving the Planet

The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Saving the Planet

My review: I was so, so disappointed by this book. I want to say first and foremost that I am a full vegetarian and about 75% vegan, so my beef (no pun intended) with this book is not the preachiness to quit eating meat and animal products. Alicia Silverstone is not a great writer, and that in and of itself would be fine if her book was not full of unsound health advice. She makes claims that she never substantiates (such as why you shouldn’t use spices in your food if you are an eating “superhero”), and she says to eat only local fruits but doesn’t seem to think the same applies to vegetables for no apparent reason. She also spotlights a variety of celebrities who are also vegan or vegetarian but who I know for a fact would find her recipes completely unhealthy (such as Dr. Joel Fuhrman). I was looking forward to trying a few of her recipes, but not a single one sounded both tasty and healthy to me, and the few that did called for bizarre ingredients I wouldn’t be able to find locally. All in all, I found nothing of use in this book, though I do recognize the value in a celebrity endorsing a meat-free diet. Still, I highly suggest skipping this book and reading Dr. Fuhrman, Dr. Dean Ornish, or one of Isa Chandra Moscowitz’s fabulous cookbooks. My rating: * (out of *****)

Do any of you have other reactions?

2 Responses to “Book review: The Kind Diet”

  1. Heather August 30, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    I have this book too. And while I thought it was interesting and gave lots of food for thought (tee hee) it was not something, in the end, that I could really contemplate eating. First and foremost were all the bizarre hard to find ingredients and most recipes listed about 15-25 of them. I’m all for trying to eat healthy but I dont want to have to spend all my money on exotic vegetables and then spend 3 hours cooking them 😉
    I also draw the line at cutting out honey from my life. Honey! Surely no bee was ever hurt producing honey 😉 AND she doesnt like mexican food. So I totally couldnt relate 😉

  2. Alicia (Vegan Epicurean) September 21, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Huh? Don’t use spices in your food? That makes no sense at all since spices are packed with antioxidants. I can see why you are questioning some of the advice.

    I will pay extra attention when I read the copy I picked up from the library yesterday. Thanks for pointing me to your review.

    Ali

Leave a Reply

