Cake in a mug

25 Aug

Let’s talk about cake. Let’s talk about cake that takes five minutes to throw together and even less time to “bake.” Yes, I mean cake in a mug.

Now, let me be clear about one thing: I’m a bit of a food snob. I don’t waste calories on things that aren’t delicious just because they are healthy or in front of me — unless I’m starving. However, sometimes the chocolate bug bites, and it bites hard. Sometimes a week has been particularly tough, and the need for a little comfort food rears its head.

And sometimes I eat dinner at 4:30 so I feel less guilty about making dessert at 5:00.

Two blogs on my feed posted recipes for vegan chocolate mug cake today, so I was doomed from the get-go. I’ve made non-vegan-cake-in-a-mug a couple of times before, and it’s only ok. However, it is chocolate, and once in a while, I need chocolate. Today was once in a while.

So what does a girl do when she has two different quick recipes for the same food, especially when the last three days have sucked her will to live? She makes both! Here are the contenders: the Fitnessista

and Notes from the Vegan Feast Kitchen.

The former was drier than I usually like, but I didn’t use the applesauce or oil. Next time I would add some of the ‘sauce. I also omitted the protein powder because I never use the stuff and used sugar instead of Stevia. The latter was quite tasty, though I substituted regular whole wheat for all the flour and added cinnamon. Verdict: I liked my variation on the Vegan Feast Kitchen’s better, though the Fitnessista’s is more like a traditional cake in texture, and it actually comes out of the mug. Vegan Feast Kitchen’s didn’t budge. Both are much improved by a light drizzle of peanut butter.

Have you ever made mug cake? Do you consider it a tasty treat or a waste of calories?

One Response to “Cake in a mug”

  1. Kate August 28, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    I saw that recipe on fitnessista too. I’ll have to try the Vegan Feast Kitchen one!

Leave a Reply

